Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Focus dice ----ing contest

[warning: this is not *quite* how the game appeared, I modified one die's value to make the puzzle interesting.  OK, I'm in battle to get the initiative, but I'm bound to lose it, am I not?

Should I just skip it altogether and pass, rather than waste my relatively large die rolls? Or should I turn down my dice to either get initiative or at least make L.  have to turn down his big dice and gain initiative?

Or... is there something else I might do?



Game #364  •  ElihuRoot (Naga) vs. Limax (Phoenix)  •  Round #3
Your turn to try to gain initiative using die skills

Player: ElihuRootPlayer: Limax
Button: NagaButton: Phoenix
W/L/T: 1/1/0 (3)W/L/T: 1/1/0 (3)
RecipeValue
f(6)
(8)2
(8)5
(8)5
f(20)
RecipeValue
(4)3
(6)1
f(8)7
(10)8
f(20)7

Friday, March 14, 2014

Beta Testing the buttonmen web site, Also Auxiliary Dice Theory

(1) If you don't know, yet, you should: the Button Men web site is now in beta testing at www.buttonweavers.com   Remember  that it's still a work in progress,  with new features to be added and some rough edges here and there  -- but it's getting very playable, and the game is always fun!

(2) Auxiliary Dice -- when a game involved Auxiliary dice, both players must agree to use it -- if not, the extra die is not included in the game.  As a matter of game theory, then, it should never appear since whichever player it penalizes in the matchup should decline it -- so if it DOES appear in the game, someone has blundered. (I suppose there are some very rare cases in which the Auxiliary die is equally good for both players. Also, it's perfectly legitimate to want to play with it for fun even if you think it hurts your net probability of winning.)

Sometimes it might be subtle to really calculate who benefits from  gaining an Auxiliary Die. But sometimes, I think it's very clear.

For example, suppose the matchup is  Patience (Recipe: 2,2,8,12,X) vs. Lancelot (10, 12,20, 20, X) . If both players agree, they'll get an extra X-swing die (X-swing: 4-20, and if you have two X-swing, they both need to be set to the same size).

Who do you think benefits if the auxiliary die is used?

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

not too hard, but a characteristic problem.


if I take the d10, my d20 has a  65% chance of rerolling safe from immediate attack, but he gets to reroll his d20 and may outroll me -- which reduces that survival chance substantially. [is it as much as a 50% reduction? Why or why not?
if I take the d20,  I have only 45% chance of rerolling safe from immediate attack.

In either case, I still have to capture both his remaining dice on the subsequent turns.





Game #136  •  ElihuRoot (Rubeus) vs. jimmosk1 (Tuxedo Mask)  •  Round #3
Your turn to attack


(4) (4) (12) (12) r(6) r(10) r(20) (20)
Button: Rubeus
Player: ElihuRoot
W/L/T: 1/1/0 (3)  •  Score: 22 (-16 sides)
Dice captured: (6), (4)

1
(4)
18
(20)
6
(6)
10
(10)
3
(20)

Dice captured: (12), (12), (4)
W/L/T: 1/1/0 (3)  •  Score: 46 (+16 sides)
Player: jimmosk1
Button: Tuxedo Mask
(6) (6) (10) (20) (4) r(8) r(10) r(12) r(20)

Sunday, February 23, 2014


(A) the layout on the alpha test site is getting better!
(B) what do you think the best move is? personally, I thought I saw three reasons why it might be better to take the die with value 5, but at least one of them is FALSE  -- or at least misleading -- do you see which one(s) and why?

  • If I leave g.  with only dice showing even values, she'll only be able to make skill attacks that sum to even numbers, and I'll have more chances of rerolling safely.
  • I get to reroll BOTH the d10 and the d12 and I increase the chance that one of them will roll out of skill attack range.
  • My z4 stays at its maximum and there might still be an opportunity for a speed attack


Game #41  •  ElihuRoot (Nickie) vs. glassonion (Naga)  •  Round #1
Your turn to attack


z(4) (10) (10) (12) z(12)
Button: Nickie
Player: ElihuRoot
W/L/T: 0/0/0 (3)  •  Score: 33 (-2.7 sides)
Dice captured: f(20)

4
z(4)
3
(10)
2
(12)
2
f(6)
4
(8)
5
(8)
6
(8)

Dice captured: z(12), (10)
W/L/T: 0/0/0 (3)  •  Score: 37 (+2.7 sides)
Player: glassonion
Button: Naga
f(6) (8) (8) (8) f(20)

Basic puzzle

This is NOT a hard puzzle. It's just is the sort of thing I'd give to a beginner  after explaining the rules, just to see if they're paying attention. yawetag has three possible attacks -- which one is CERTAIN to lose? and which of the other two is clearly the best?




Game #92: Round #2
Opponent's turn to attack

Button: Lucky
(6) (10) p(12) (20) (X)
Player: ElihuRoot
W/L/T: 1/0/0 (3)
Dice captured: p(4), (X=14), (10)
Score: 23

3
(6)
5
p(12)
17
(20)
4
(8)
7
(12)

Score: 30
Dice captured: (10), (X=10)
W/L/T: 0/1/0 (3)
Player: yawetag

p(4) (8) (10) (12) (X)
Button: Grist
It is your opponent's turn to attack right now.

Last action time: Fri, 14 Feb 2014 05:49:48 +0000

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Full house


I'm not rerolling the d30, of course. But the two obvious choices are to use by d20 against his f8  or to use my d18 against one of his d20s. I'm pretty sure I know which one is better, but I confess my head aches trying to prove it, and I could easily be wrong. [Doesn't that mean I'm not pretty sure?]

Your turn to attack

Button: Yeti
(10) (20) (30) (30) (X)
Player: ElihuRoot
W/L/T: 1/1/0 (3)
Dice captured: none
Score: 39

2
(10)
1
(20)
11
(30)
9
(X=18)
1
(6)
1
f(8)
6
f(10)
6
(20)
6
(20)

Score: 62
Dice captured: (30)
W/L/T: 1/1/0 (3)
Player: blackshadowshade
(6) f(8) f(10) (20) (20)
Button: Mantis

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

If Crab were some other button, I wouldn't know what to reroll.

OK, everyone sees at a glance
  • I should capture the f10 with value of 6, that's clearly better than any other capture
  • I'll win if I survive with my d10, and tie if I survive with my d8 
That along probably would incline me to reroll the d8, even though it only has a 25% chance of rolling out of C.'s ability to recapture me (the d10 has a 40% chance of doing that). But what if the score were a bit different? If  Crab's d12 that has already been captured were instead another d10, C.'s score would be only 63 at this point int he game, and I could win by surviving with either my d8 or d10.  Would it then make more sense to capture the d10 with my d10? That 40% chance of rolling out of danger is compelling, is it sufficient? 


Game #82: Round #1
Your turn to attack

Button: Crab
(8) (10) (12) f(20) f(20)
Player: ElihuRoot
W/L/T: 0/0/0 (3)
Dice captured: (12), (20)
Score: 41

8
(8)
8
(10)
5
f(6)
2
(10)
6
f(10)

Score: 65
Dice captured: f(20), f(20), (12)
W/L/T: 0/0/0 (3)
Player: Caligari
f(6) (10) f(10) (12) (20)
Button: Mirumoto